Seva - Compassion in Action
Your Compassion Can Change The World
Your Compassion Can Change The World
Your Compassion Can Change The World
Your Compassion Can Change The World
Our Board

Honorary Lifetime Members:
Ram Dass
Jerry G Jones
T Stephen Jones, MD
Gullapalli N. Rao, MD, FACS
Jahanara Romney
Bob Weir

Advisory Circle:

Alejandra Alvarez
Gary Barth, MD
Kenneth Baum, MD
Lucinda Bazile, MPH
John Bennett
Michael E. Bird, MSW, MPH
Alita Bowen
Dennis J. Bowen, Sr.
Girija Brilliant, PhD, MPH
Peter Buckley
Mirabai Bush
Nanjie Caihu
Terrance Carlson

Richard Iron Cloud
Kevin Clougherty, MHA
Christie Coffin
Gary Cohen
Sally Crane
Sandra Dratler, DrPH, FACHE
Devin Gattey, MD
David Green, MPH
Gary W. Hahn, E.P.
Paul Haible
Lesli Handmacher, OD
Michael Jeffery, JD
Yvette Joseph-Fox, MSW
Kerry Kaplan
Daniel Karr, MD
Neal L. Keny-Guyer
Carolyn Kuali'i
Mary LaMar
Glen Dune Lankard, Jr.
Lee Larson
Mariana Leckner, Ph.D., CFM
Mickey Lemle
David Levine
Dick Litwin, MD
Judith Litwin
Elikapeka Lopez
Milan Mamirov
Maria Mangini, PhD, FNP
Sunanda Markus
Michel Maurer
Nipun Mehta
Gregory Miller
Alan Morinis, PhD
P. Namperumalsamy, MS
G. Natchiar, MS, DO
Sandra Nathan
Don Oakley
Archolina Panton
Pauline Pariser, MD
John Plowright, CFA
Daniel G. Rich
Marina Rifkin
Maura Santangelo, MD, MPH
Dylan Sears
Neal Shorstein
Pamela Siliato
Isaac Sobol, MD
Beverly Spring, MD
Dr. M. Srinivasan
Christopher Thomas
Xiaomin Thomas
Mark Tilsen
Linda Velarde
Jane Ward, OD, MD, MPH
Ted Wendell
Nedd Willard, PhD
Agnes Williams
Ken Wilson, PhD
Kevin Winthrop, MD
Mariano Yee, MD

Seva's Board of Directors
An eclectic mix of health professionals and cultural activists

Seva Board Meeting Fall 2013
Board of Directors meeting Fall 2013

Vaughan Acton
Branding consultant and former Vice President of Brand Management and Web Marketing for Kaiser Permanente, McKesson, and Prudential Healthcare.

Laura Bird, JD
— Secretary
Self-employed attorney in New Mexico working in the areas of Indian law, health law and business law. Prior to law school, worked in HIV/AIDS prevention nationally with Native communities.

Deborah Galardi
Principal of Galardi Rothstein Group, an international economics and financial consulting firm specializing in financial planning, tariff design, and capacity building for infrastructure systems.

Wavy Gravy

Social Activist, Clown, Author, Co-Director Camp Winnarainbow. 

Jon Kaplan ­
Award-winning photographer.   His photographs share the humanity, dignity, and many rich cultures represented in the developing world.  Jon's images have appeared in the New York Times, The New Yorker, and many other publications, including Seva's Gifts of Service catalog.

Early Board of Directors meeting mid 1980s

Kerry Kaplan
President of HealthCare Connections,a Boston based Managed Care Consulting Firm. Expertise in marketing, sales, joint ventures, executive coaching and temporary senior executive assignments.

Lisa M. Laird, CFA Treasurer
Vice President of Investments and Cash Management, St. Joseph Health System. Experienced in serving community based organizations.
Yvette Leung, MPH, ORSCC

Principal of Y's Change, an organizational development consulting firm specializing in collective impact coaching.

Leslie Louie MPH, PhD
— Vice Chair
Program Administrator at the Public Health Institute. Genetic Epidemiologist with experience working in Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Tomás A. Magaña, MD, MA
Pediatrician with expertise in care of at-risk children/adolescents and culturally sensitive practice.  Founder and Director of the FACES for Future Coalition at the Public Health Institute.  Assistant Professor, Samuel Merritt University, Oakland, CA. 

Stephen D. Miller, MD — Chair
Ophthalmologist and medical executive.  Former head of Kaiser-Permanente Hawaii eye department and past Vice-President of the Hawaii Permanente Medical Group.  Currently a management consultant for Kaiser-Permanente. Over 20 years of experience volunteering with Seva with a focus on teaching eye surgery and hospital management.

Nancy Mortifee

Educator, Author, Chair - Seva Canada Society; Director- Somerset Foundation; Founding ED - Westcoast Sacred Arts Society and Goldie Hawn's Bright Light Foundation.

Early Board of Directors meeting early 1980s

Doraiswamy Nagarajan,  MA, MSc
Honorary Advisor & Visiting Faculty - LAICO/Aravind, Volunteer Resource person in Program and Partner Development for Rural Eyecare in South Asia.

John Plowright, CFA
Vice President of T. Rowe Price; Institutional Client Service, working with endowments, foundations and pension plans.

Marty Spencer, MD, FRCSC
Ophthalmologist, Nanaimo, BC, Canada.  Seva Canada board member, volunteer in technology transfer to Seva sight programs.

R.D. Thulasiraj, BSC, MBA
Executive Director of the Lions Aravind Institute of Community Ophthalmology (LAICO), LAICO helps eye-care hospitals around the world build capacity in blindness prevention.

interaction.jpg interaction.jpg